College Council

The Regulated Health Professions Act, 1991 (the Act), among other things, sets out the objects of the College. The Opticianry Act, 1991 speaks to the scope of practice of the profession, authorized acts Opticians may perform and the composition of the College Council.

The Council of the College of Opticians is currently composed of eight (8) elected members and five (5) public members. Elected members of Council are Registered Members of the College elected by their peers to positions on the Council in accordance with the by-laws. Public members of the Council are appointed by the Ontario Government.

All Opticians in the province are important contributors to self-regulation. By adhering to the Standards of Practice in daily practice and by meeting the requirements of the Quality Assurance Program, Opticians support self-regulation. Participating in the election of Council members is another way Opticians are involved in self-regulation.

The professional members of Council and Committees bring expertise about the practice of Opticianry and an understanding of today’s realities to their decision-making. They reflect each Optician’s commitment to the public’s right to safe, ethical, and competent care. Council must approve all changes to entry to practice competencies and requirements, set the Standards of Practice for the profession, and enact By-laws and Policies for the College. It is important to note that members elected to Council do not represent the interest of the Opticians in their district. Members of Council and Committees make decisions that further the College’s mandate to regulate and improve the practice of Opticianry in the public interest.

Meetings of the Council of the College are open to the public and provide a forum for discussion of a wide range of issues affecting the governing of the profession.