

## COUNCIL AGENDA Monday, December 2, 2019 COO Boardroom 9:30 am to 4:00 pm

Attendees: Mr. Bryan Todd, RO, President, Elected Member

Mr. Omar Farouk, Vice President, Public Member Ms. Jacalyn Cop-Rasmussen, Public Member Mr. Balbir Dhillon RO, Elected Member Mr. Stephen Kinsella, Public Member Ms. Ingrid Koenig RO, Elected Member

Ms. Neda Mohammadzadeh, RO, Elected Member

Ms. Dorina Reiz, RO, Elected Member Mr. Rob Vezina, RO, Elected Member Mr. Edward Viveiros, RO, Elected Member

Mr. Jack Zwicker, Public Member

Administration: Mr. Fazal Khan RO, Registrar

Ms. Melanie Woodbeck, Deputy Registrar

Ms. Amy Stein, General Counsel

Ms. Carolyn Robertson, Manager, Communications and Executive Office

## **Overall Meeting**

Purpose: To review reports and make decisions as required.

Time	Item	Deliverable	Owner
9:30 – 9:35 5 minutes	1.0 Introduction 1.1 Introductions and Announcements 1.2 Conflict of Interest Declaration 1.3 Adoption of Agenda	Motion to adopt the agenda	Bryan Todd, President
9:35–10:15 40 minutes	2.0 In Camera Closed Session	Motion	Bryan Todd, President
10:15-10:30 15 minutes	Break		
10:30 –10:35 5 minutes	3.0 Minutes 3.1 October 7, and 8, 2019 Draft Minutes (*)	Motion to approve the minutes	Bryan Todd, President
10:35 –10:55 20 minutes	4.0 2019 Financial reports 4.1 Year-to-date 2019 Financial Variance Report (*) 4.2 Approval of the Auditor (*)	Motion	Melanie Woodbeck, Deputy Registrar
10:55–11:25 30 minutes	<ul> <li>5.0 Appointed Members</li> <li>5.1 Approval of Appointed Members</li> <li>5.2 Appointing Non-Opticians to Committees (*)</li> <li>5.3 Clinical Practice Committee (*)</li> <li>5.4 Professional Misconduct Committee (*)</li> </ul>	Motion	Bryan Todd, President



Time	Item	Deliverable	Owner
11:25–11:45 20 minutes	6.0 Changes to the Professional Portfolio (*)	Motion	Derick Summers, Chair of QA
11:45–1:00 75 minutes	Lunch		
1:00–1:15 15 minutes	7.0 Committee Slate Approval	Motion	Bryan Todd, President
1:15–2:15 60 minutes	8.0 Governance 8.1 Council Information and Monitoring System Policy (4-85) (*) 8.2 Vote Supermajority for Termination of a Registrar, CEO Policy (3-11) (*) 8.3 New Strategic Agenda appended to policy 4-40 (*) 8.4 Proposed By-law Amendments to Schedule C and a Newly Proposed Schedule E (*) 8.5 By-law Amendments re Governance Reform (*) 8.6 Council and Committee Effectiveness Selfevaluations (*)	Motion	Margaret Osborne, Chair, Governance
2:15–2:30 15 minutes	Break		
2:30–2:45 15 minutes	9.0 2020 Draft Budget (*)	Monitoring	Melanie Woodbeck, Deputy Registrar
2:45–3:00 15 minutes	10.0 Strategic Agenda (*)	Monitoring	Melanie Woodbeck, Deputy Registrar
3:00–3:10 10 minutes	11.0 Patient Bill of Rights	Motion	Dennis Tse, Chair, Patient Relations
3:15-3:20 5 minutes	12.0 Approval of 2020 Meeting Dates (*)	Motion	Bryan Todd, President
3:20	13.0 Recess to the following day	Motion	Independent Meeting Chair
3:20-4:00	14.0 Election of Committee Chairs and Vice Chairs to follow the council meeting		
	Council Dinner to follow at 6:00		



## COUNCIL AGENDA Tuesday, December 3, 2019 COO Boardroom 9:30 am to 12:20 pm

Attendees: Mr. Bryan Todd, RO, President, Elected Member

Mr. Omar Farouk, Vice President, Public Member Ms. Jacalyn Cop-Rasmussen, Public Member Mr. Balbir Dhillon RO, Elected Member Mr. Stephen Kinsella, Public Member Ms. Ingrid Koenig, RO, Elected Member

Ms. Neda Mohammadzadeh, RO, Elected Member

Ms. Dorina Reiz, RO, Elected Member Mr. Rob Vezina, RO, Elected Member Mr. Edward Viveiros, RO, Elected Member Mr. Gordon White, Public Member

Mr. Jack Zwicker, Public Member

Administration: Mr. Fazal Khan RO, Registrar

Ms. Melanie Woodbeck, Deputy Registrar

Ms. Amy Stein, General Counsel

Ms. Carolyn Robertson, Manager, Communications and Executive Office

## **Overall Meeting**

Purpose: To review reports and make decisions as required.

Time	Item	Deliverable	Owner
9:30 – 9:35 5 minutes	15.0 Introduction 15.1 Introductions and Announcements 15.2 Conflict of Interest Declaration	Information and Discussion	Bryan Todd, President
9:35–10:05 30 minutes	16.0 Standards of Practice (*)	Motion	John Battaglia, Chair, Standards of Practice
10:05–10:15 10 minutes	17.0 Defining Council Roles 17.1 Role of the Chief Examiner (*)	Motion	Bryan Todd, President
10:15–10:30 15 minutes	Break		
10:30–10:50 20 minutes	18.0 Registration Committee 18.1 Amended Student/Intern Supervision Policy (*)	Motion	Rob Vezina, Chair, Registration Committee
10:50–11:50 60 minutes	19.0 Executive Elections  (*) – Executive Committee Elections Procedure and Expressions of Interest 19.1 Review Election Procedure	Motion	Bryan Todd, President



Time	Item	Deliverable	Owner
_	19.2 Election of President		
	19.3 Election of Vice-President		
	19.4 Election of Three Remaining Executive		
	Members		
	19.5 Appointment of the 2020 Executive		
	Committee		
11:50–12:20 30 minutes	20.0 Reports		
	20.1 Registrar's Report (*)	Motion	Bryan Todd, President
	20.2 External Meetings Report (*)		
	20.3 Committee Reports (*)		Fresident
	20.4 Communications Reports (*)		
12:20	21.0 Adjournment	Motion	Bryan Todd, President